Federal student loan forgiveness is reported through several federal measures rather than one interchangeable total. Federal Student Aid released updated Public Service Loan Forgiveness data on September 22, 2026. The prior April 2026 PSLF Combined Report showed $93.4 billion discharged for 1,254,800 borrowers through PSLF, TEPSLF, and related PSLF relief; those figures are now a dated program snapshot rather than the latest PSLF totals. A separate U.S. Department of Education snapshot reported $188.8 billion in approved relief for 5.3 million borrowers across several targeted forgiveness and discharge actions through January 16, 2025. The Department’s financial statements recorded $59.775 billion in loan cancellations during FY2024.
Those figures measure different things. The April 2026 PSLF amount is a cumulative program snapshot, the $188.8 billion figure is a multi-program cumulative approval snapshot through January 2025, and the $59.775 billion figure measures cancellations recognized during one fiscal year. They should not be added together.
September 22, 2026
$93.4 billion
1,254,800
$188.8 billion
5.3 million
$59.775 billion
Federal Forgiveness Statistics Measure Different Events
The word forgiveness is often used broadly, but federal reports distinguish approvals, discharges, and accounting-period cancellations. The reporting period also matters. A cumulative program total cannot be treated as though it were the amount canceled during a single year.
Three federal student loan relief measures
Dollar amounts use the reporting scope and period stated by the U.S. Department of Education or Federal Student Aid.
| Measure | Amount | Period | What the figure represents |
|---|---|---|---|
| PSLF cumulative discharges | $93.4 billion | April 2026 historical snapshot | Debt discharged through the combined PSLF reporting series, including PSLF, TEPSLF, and Limited PSLF Waiver activity; FSA released newer PSLF data in September 2026 |
| Targeted forgiveness and discharge approvals | $188.8 billion | Through January 16, 2025 | Cumulative approvals reported across multiple targeted federal relief actions |
| Loan cancellations recognized in FY2024 | $59.775 billion | Fiscal year 2024 | Principal and interest cancellations recorded during the fiscal year across several cancellation and discharge types |
Federal Student Aid announced a newer PSLF data release on September 22, 2026. The announcement confirms that forgiveness and discharge data, including PSLF, were refreshed, but it does not state the replacement PSLF workbook totals. The April 2026 figures below are therefore retained only as a period-specific historical snapshot and are not presented as the latest PSLF totals.
The $188.8 billion approval total is not a September 2026 all-program balance. It is a Department of Education cumulative snapshot ending January 16, 2025. PSLF reporting continued after that date, so the separate program figures cover a different reporting period.
April 2026 PSLF Snapshot: $93.4 Billion Discharged
The April 2026 PSLF Combined Report showed cumulative discharges of $93.4 billion for 1,254,800 borrowers. Dividing the rounded discharged amount by the reported borrower count gives an average of about $74,400 per borrower. That average is a DebtData calculation from rounded FSA totals rather than a separate borrower-level distribution measure.
Another 2,657,000 borrowers had approved qualifying employment and a positive loan balance in the April 2026 PSLF portfolio, with a combined outstanding balance of $239.2 billion. That outstanding balance is not an estimate of future forgiveness. Borrowers were at different stages of the 120-payment process, balances can change, and future discharge depends on program requirements being met.
Public Service Loan Forgiveness statistics — April 2026 snapshot
Historical combined PSLF reporting through April 2026. Federal Student Aid announced a newer PSLF data refresh on September 22, 2026.
| Metric | Reported value | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| Cumulative balance discharged | $93.4 billion | Through April 2026 |
| Borrowers granted PSLF-related discharge | 1,254,800 | Through April 2026 |
| Approximate average discharged per borrower | About $74,400 | DebtData calculation from rounded April 2026 cumulative totals |
| Borrowers with approved qualifying employment and a positive balance | 2,657,000 | April 2026 portfolio |
| Outstanding balance for those borrowers | $239.2 billion | April 2026 portfolio |
PSLF forgives the remaining balance on eligible Direct Loans after a borrower satisfies the program’s requirements, including 120 qualifying monthly payments while working full time for a qualifying employer. The $239.2 billion April 2026 outstanding balance shown above is therefore a portfolio measure, not an amount already approved for discharge.
April 2026 Qualifying-Payment Distribution
FSA’s April 2026 portfolio data show how borrowers with qualifying employment and open balances were distributed by qualifying-payment count at that time. The largest reported group had between one and 24 qualifying payments, while 14,200 borrowers were reported with at least 120 payments.
PSLF borrowers by qualifying-payment count
Borrowers with qualifying employment and a positive balance, April 2026 historical snapshot.
| Qualifying payments | Borrowers |
|---|---|
| 0 | 296,000 |
| 1–24 | 609,800 |
| 25–48 | 486,800 |
| 49–72 | 475,600 |
| 73–96 | 422,900 |
| 97–119 | 351,800 |
| 120+ | 14,200 |
PSLF Borrowers by Qualifying-Payment Count — April 2026
Historical snapshot of borrowers with qualifying employment and a positive balance.
Federal Student Aid, Public Service Loan Forgiveness Data, April 2026 historical reporting period.
The payment-count categories are rounded borrower counts from the April 2026 snapshot. Their sum may differ slightly from the separately reported portfolio total because of rounding. They should not be treated as the distribution in FSA’s later September 2026 release.
The $188.8 Billion January 2025 Approval Snapshot
On January 16, 2025, the Department of Education reported $188.8 billion in cumulative approved student loan relief for 5.3 million borrowers across 33 actions. The Department divided the dollar total among four broad groups: income-driven repayment forgiveness, PSLF, total and permanent disability discharge, and borrower defense, closed-school, and related relief.
Targeted student loan relief approved through January 16, 2025
This is a historical cumulative approval snapshot, not a current 2026 all-program total.
| Relief category | Approved relief | Borrowers reported |
|---|---|---|
| Income-driven repayment forgiveness | $57.1 billion | 1.45 million |
| Public Service Loan Forgiveness | $78.5 billion | 1,069,000 |
| Total and permanent disability discharge | $18.7 billion | 633,000 |
| Borrower defense, closed-school, and related relief | $34.5 billion | Just under 2 million |
| Total approved relief | $188.8 billion | 5.3 million borrowers |
Approved Relief by Category in the January 2025 Snapshot
Cumulative approved relief reported by the Department of Education, dollars in billions.
U.S. Department of Education, Biden-Harris Administration Announces Final Student Loan Forgiveness and Borrower Assistance Actions, January 16, 2025.
How the January 2025 dollars were distributed
- PSLF accounted for about 41.6% of the $188.8 billion total, based on the Department’s rounded category amounts.
- Income-driven repayment forgiveness represented about 30.2%.
- PSLF and income-driven repayment together represented about 71.8% of the reported approved dollar amount.
- These percentages are DebtData calculations from rounded source values and therefore are approximate.
FY2024 Loan Cancellations Totaled $59.775 Billion
The Department of Education’s FY2024 Agency Financial Report provides a different view of federal debt relief: cancellations of loan principal and interest recorded during the fiscal year. The total was $59.775 billion.
Income-driven repayment cancellations were the largest category at $26.563 billion, followed by PSLF at $17.837 billion. The Department reported that IDR and PSLF represented 44.4% and 29.8% of all FY2024 cancellations, respectively.
Federal student loan cancellations by type, FY2024
Amounts converted from the Department’s reported millions of dollars to billions of dollars.
| Cancellation type | Amount ($ billions) |
|---|---|
| Closed-school discharges | $0.034 billion |
| Death of the borrower | $1.124 billion |
| Total and permanent disability | $5.850 billion |
| Public Service Loan Forgiveness | $17.837 billion |
| Borrower defense discharges | $5.467 billion |
| Income-driven repayment plans | $26.563 billion |
| Defaulted loans held by guaranty agencies or the defaulted-loan servicer | $2.582 billion |
| Other cancellations | $0.318 billion |
| Total | $59.775 billion |
FY2024 Loan Cancellations by Type
Principal and interest cancellations recorded by the U.S. Department of Education, dollars in billions.
U.S. Department of Education, FY 2024 Agency Financial Report — Management’s Discussion and Analysis, FY2024.
The Department’s FY2024 cancellation total is broader than forgiveness based on repayment or public service. It also includes discharges after death or total and permanent disability, closed-school discharges, borrower defense, and certain defaulted-loan cancellations. For that reason, $59.775 billion should be described as FY2024 loan cancellations rather than as a single-year PSLF or IDR forgiveness figure.
Annual Loan Cancellations, FY2020–FY2024
The financial report provides a five-year series for total principal and interest cancellations. Annual cancellations rose from $9.7 billion in FY2020 to a peak of $94.1 billion in FY2023, then declined to $59.8 billion in FY2024. The Department reports a 36.5% decrease from FY2023 to FY2024.
Federal student loan cancellations by fiscal year
Totals shown in the Department of Education FY2024 Agency Financial Report, dollars in billions.
| Fiscal year | Loan cancellations ($ billions) |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | $9.7 billion |
| FY2021 | $10.4 billion |
| FY2022 | $29.2 billion |
| FY2023 | $94.1 billion |
| FY2024 | $59.8 billion |
Federal Student Loan Cancellations, FY2020–FY2024
Annual cancellations of loan principal and interest, dollars in billions.
U.S. Department of Education, FY 2024 Agency Financial Report — Management’s Discussion and Analysis, FY2020–FY2024 series.
The FY2023 peak did not continue into FY2024
- Annual cancellations increased from $29.2 billion in FY2022 to $94.1 billion in FY2023.
- They fell to $59.8 billion in FY2024, a 36.5% decline reported by the Department.
- Even after that decline, FY2024 cancellations were more than six times the $9.7 billion shown for FY2020.
What Counts as Federal Student Loan Forgiveness or Discharge
Federal Student Aid uses several program-specific routes to remove a borrower’s remaining federal student loan balance. The eligibility rules and reporting populations are not interchangeable.
- Public Service Loan Forgiveness: eligible Direct Loan borrowers can receive forgiveness of their remaining balance after 120 qualifying monthly payments while working full time for an eligible public-service employer.
- Income-driven repayment forgiveness: qualifying borrowers can receive forgiveness of a remaining balance after meeting the repayment-period requirements of an eligible IDR plan.
- Total and permanent disability discharge: eligible borrowers may have federal student loans discharged based on qualifying disability documentation or data matching.
- Borrower defense: qualifying federal loans may be discharged when applicable requirements concerning school misconduct are met.
- Closed-school discharge: borrowers who meet the federal eligibility rules after a school closes may qualify for discharge.
- Other statutory discharges and cancellations: federal accounting reports may include categories such as death discharges and certain cancellations involving defaulted loans.
Because these routes are based on different statutes, eligibility rules, populations, and reporting systems, a borrower count from one program cannot be treated as directly comparable with a borrower count from another without checking the underlying definition.
Data Notes
- PSLF reporting status: Federal Student Aid announced on September 22, 2026 that its Data Center release included updated forgiveness and discharge data, including Public Service Loan Forgiveness. The announcement does not state the replacement PSLF workbook totals.
- April 2026 PSLF snapshot: the $93.4 billion discharged, 1,254,800 discharged borrowers, 2,657,000 borrowers with qualifying employment and positive balances, and $239.2 billion outstanding balance are retained as period-specific April 2026 observations. They are not presented as the latest PSLF totals after the September 2026 data refresh.
- Average PSLF discharge: about $74,400 is calculated by dividing the rounded April 2026 cumulative discharged balance of $93.4 billion by 1,254,800 borrowers. Because the dollar total is rounded, the resulting average is also approximate.
- PSLF outstanding balance: $239.2 billion is the April 2026 balance held by borrowers with qualifying employment and positive balances in that reported portfolio. It is not an official forecast of how much will eventually be forgiven.
- January 2025 approval snapshot: $188.8 billion for 5.3 million borrowers is the Department’s cumulative total for the targeted actions covered by its January 16, 2025 release. It should not be presented as a September 2026 all-program total.
- FY2024 cancellations: the Agency Financial Report records cancellations recognized during the fiscal year and includes categories broader than PSLF and IDR forgiveness.
- Historical series: FY2020–FY2024 values are the comparable annual totals displayed in the Department’s FY2024 financial report. No missing years have been estimated or interpolated.
Sources
- Public Service Loan Forgiveness Data — Federal Student Aid; PSLF reporting and downloadable program data.
- PSLF Combined Report — Federal Student Aid; downloadable PSLF program workbook. The April 2026 observations on this page are retained as a dated snapshot from this reporting series.
- Federal Student Aid Posts Updated Reports to FSA Data Center — Federal Student Aid, September 22, 2026; confirms updated forgiveness and discharge data, including Public Service Loan Forgiveness.
- Biden-Harris Administration Announces Final Student Loan Forgiveness and Borrower Assistance Actions — U.S. Department of Education, January 16, 2025; source for the $188.8 billion, 5.3 million borrower cumulative approval snapshot and its program-level breakdown.
- FY 2024 Agency Financial Report — Management’s Discussion and Analysis — U.S. Department of Education; source for FY2024 cancellation totals, cancellation categories, and the FY2020–FY2024 annual series.
- Student Loan Forgiveness and Other Ways the Government Can Help You Repay Your Loans — Federal Student Aid; federal definitions and program descriptions for forgiveness and discharge options.
Cite This Page
DebtData.org. (2026). Student Loan Forgiveness Statistics. https://debtdata.org/student-loan-forgiveness-statistics/“Student Loan Forgiveness Statistics.” DebtData.org, October 2, 2026, https://debtdata.org/student-loan-forgiveness-statistics/.DebtData.org. “Student Loan Forgiveness Statistics.” Last modified October 2, 2026. https://debtdata.org/student-loan-forgiveness-statistics/.